Best Electric Scooter UK 2026: iScooter vs isinwheel Compared (and Where You Can Ride)
Electric scooters from iScooter and isinwheel cover everything from a light, foldable scooter for short trips to off-road models with big motors and pneumatic tyres. Before you choose one, check where you can legally ride it (below). Then four things decide which scooter suits you: range, top speed and motor power, tyres and brakes. This guide compares models using the figures each brand publishes on its UK website. Prices are checked every night.
iScooter offers today
OFF
Extra 8% Off Sitewide
OFF
Extra 15% Off the MT2 on iscooterglobal.co.uk
Where can you ride an e-scooter in the UK?
Under UK law today, a privately owned e-scooter can only be ridden on private land, with the landowner's permission. It's illegal to ride one on public roads, pavements and cycle lanes. The exception is rental e-scooters in the official trial areas, which you can ride under the trial's rules. The rules can change, so check GOV.UK's e-scooter guidance before you buy.
Quick comparison
| Scooter | Motor | Top speed (brand's figure) | Range (brand's figure) | Tyres | Price today |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iScooter i8 | 350W | Not stated on its page | 12 miles | 8.5-inch | £188.99 |
| isinwheel S9 | 350W (500W peak) | 15.5mph | 15.5 miles | 8.5-inch pneumatic | £198.99 |
| iScooter i9Max | 500W, 36V 360Wh battery | Not stated on its page | 25 miles (40km) | 10-inch solid | £309.99 |
| isinwheel S9 Max | 500W, 36V 10Ah battery | 21.7mph | 25 miles | 10-inch honeycomb (puncture-resistant) | £299.99 |
| iScooter iX4 (off-road) | 800W, 48V 15Ah battery | 28mph | 31 miles (iX4 31-mile version) | 10-inch off-road tubeless pneumatic, self-sealing | £428.99 |
Range and speed are the brands' own figures; real range depends on your weight, hills, the weather and the speed mode you ride in.
How to choose
- Range: pick a scooter whose range comfortably covers your round trip on one charge: real-world range is usually shorter than the figure on the box.
- Motor and hills: isinwheel says the S9 (350W, 500W peak) handles gradients of around 20%, and the S9 Max (500W) inclines of 25%. iScooter says the iX4's 800W motor handles slopes up to 25%.
- Tyres: pneumatic (air) tyres are softer on rough surfaces; solid and honeycomb tyres can't puncture but ride firmer.
- Brakes: the iX4 has dual disc brakes plus an electronic brake; iScooter says the i8's drum brake system was tested 2,000 times.
- Weight limit: isinwheel quotes 120kg for the S9 Max and 265lb (about 120kg) for the S9; iScooter quotes a maximum dynamic load of 120kg for the i9Max.
Best value: iScooter i8 and isinwheel S9
-40%+ Extra 8% off with code
-50%+ Extra 8% off with code
isinwheel® S9 Series Electric Scooter For Adults 500W
£198.99 £399.99
about £183.07 with code
- iScooter i8: a 350W motor and up to 12 miles of range, with 8.5-inch tyres and a drum brake.
- isinwheel S9: 15.5mph and 15.5 miles from a 350W motor (500W peak), 8.5-inch pneumatic tyres, an IPX7-rated battery and an IP54 water-resistant body. It folds, and the same page sells the S9 Pro (18.6 miles, 18.6mph) and S9 Max.
Good for: short, flat rides and a first scooter.
Best all-rounders: iScooter i9Max and isinwheel S9 Max
-38%+ Extra 8% off with code
iScooter i9Max 500W Electric Scooter
£309.99 £498.99
about £285.19 with code
Get code & shop ↗
-40%+ Extra 8% off with code
isinwheel® S9Max Electric Scooter for Adults 500W
£299.99 £499.00
about £275.99 with code
- iScooter i9Max: a 500W front motor and 36V 360Wh battery that iScooter rates at 40km (25 miles) per charge, 10-inch solid tyres that need no maintenance, an aluminium frame and app control.
- isinwheel S9 Max: 500W, 21.7mph and up to 25 miles from a 36V 10Ah battery that charges in 3 to 6 hours, a steel frame, 10-inch puncture-resistant honeycomb tyres and a Bluetooth app for speed and cruise control.
Good for: longer rides and some hills.
Best for rough ground: iScooter iX4
-43%+ Extra 8% off with code
iScooter iX4 Off Road Electric Scooter with APP Control
£428.99 £754.99
about £394.67 with code
An off-road scooter with an 800W brushless motor and 48V 15Ah battery. iScooter quotes a top speed of 28mph and slopes up to 25%. It has 10-inch off-road tubeless pneumatic tyres that seal themselves after small punctures, dual disc brakes with an electronic brake, and LED headlights, brake lights, turn signals and a bell.
Good for: private land, tracks and rough ground. Remember it can't legally be ridden on public roads or pavements.
Codes and deals
Both brands publish codes for specific models as well as sitewide: the ones live today are in the codes box at the top of this guide, on our iScooter discount codes and isinwheel discount codes pages. A sitewide code shows as "about £X with code" on the products above. For more, see our Black Friday tech deals.
FAQs
Are electric scooters legal in the UK?
Privately owned e-scooters can only be ridden on private land with the landowner's permission. Riding one on public roads, pavements or cycle lanes is illegal; rental e-scooters in official trial areas are the exception. Check GOV.UK for the current rules.
What is the best electric scooter for adults in the UK?
It depends on your rides. For short, flat trips the iScooter i8 or isinwheel S9 are the lightest on price; for longer rides, the iScooter i9Max or isinwheel S9 Max (both rated at 25 miles); for rough ground on private land, the iScooter iX4.
How far can an electric scooter go on one charge?
By the brands' own figures: 12 miles for the iScooter i8, 15.5 miles for the isinwheel S9, 25 miles for the iScooter i9Max and isinwheel S9 Max, and 31 miles for the 31-mile version of the iScooter iX4. Real range is usually lower.
iScooter or isinwheel: which is better?
Both sell similar models at similar prices. Compare the specific scooters: the isinwheel S9 Max quotes 21.7mph and 25 miles with honeycomb tyres; the iScooter i9Max quotes 25 miles with solid tyres; for off-road, iScooter's iX4 quotes 28mph with self-sealing pneumatic tyres.
Are there iScooter or isinwheel discount codes?
Yes: both brands publish sitewide and model codes. The ones live today are in the codes box at the top of this guide and on each brand's page.
How we checked this guide
Every product fact in this guide comes from the brand's own product description, checked on 14 October 2026, and iScooter's and isinwheel's UK product pages (motor, speed, range, tyres, brakes, load); GOV.UK e-scooter guidance. Prices are read on each store's own product page every night; the store's checkout shows the final price. We haven't tested these products ourselves, so we don't rate them: we compare what each brand says it does.
Links to stores in this guide are affiliate links: we may earn a commission when you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure
Sources: iscooterglobal.co.uk/products/iscooter-i8-500w-electric-scooter-1 · iscooterglobal.co.uk/products/iscooter-i9max-electric-scooter · iscooterglobal.co.uk/products/iscooter-ix4-off-road-electric-scooter · isinwheel.co.uk/products/isinwheel-s9pro-electric-scooter-350w · isinwheel.co.uk/products/isinwheel-s9max-500w-electric-scooter · gov.uk/guidance/e-scooter-trials-guidance-for-users
More money-saving guides
- Best Hoverboard UK 2026: iHoverboard H1 vs H2 vs H8Max (and Where It's Cheaper)
- Best Power Bank UK 2026: UGREEN vs EcoFlow vs Belkin (20,000mAh, Magnetic and Laptop Power Banks)
- Best Fleece Jackets UK 2026: Weird Fish, Berghaus, Columbia and Teddy Fleeces Compared
- Best Heated Airers, Heated Throws and Electric Blankets UK 2026: Coopers vs VonHaus vs Silentnight
- Best Perfume Gift Sets UK 2026: Jimmy Choo, Hugo Boss, Mugler, Lalique and Sets Under £20